Fashion / Lifestyle / Travel

What’s in my bag… Airport Edition

Faux Leather Uni Tote from General Pants

Faux Leather Uni Tote – General Pants, vintage scarf

Who knows why the contents of someone else’s bag is so intriguing, but let’s be honest, it just is! And in my opinion, the ‘airport carry on bag,’ is one of the most intriguing of them all.

After enduring 9 flights in the last 8 months, you’d think I would have discovered the secret to packing the ultimate airport bag, but sure enough I always forget a few things and take more than I actually need. Nevertheless, I thought I’d share with you my most recent attempt at the quintessential carry on luggage bag!

bagcontents

Adventure Time passport holder & A4 wallet – Forbidden Planet, Yen Magazine, Patent Wallet – Ted Baker, Teddy Bear Wallet & Iphone shell – Topshop, Macbook Pro, Moleskine Notebook – Amazon, Mermaid make up bag – Topshop, 1001 Night of Snowfalls – Forbidden Planet

Organisation is the key to stress free (well almost!) travelling.  I keep my boarding pass, passport and any important information in a brightly coloured wallet to avoid that overwhelming panic when you think you’ve left something at home but then realise it’s just made its way to the very bottom of your giant bag!

Your trip begins at the airport, and I always make sure I have plenty to entertain myself with.  Take a good book, a big glossy magazine or download that film you keep meaning to watch but never have the time for.

I always carry my camera and laptop in my hand luggage for safety.  You never know what kind of hell your suitcase might be going through in transit, and the last thing you want is to arrive at your destination and find your Macbook screen has arrived too, but in 1000 tiny pieces!

makeupbag

Mermaid bag – Topshop, La Roche Posay Effeclar Duo +. Hand sanitizer, Nivea exfoliating wipes – Boots, Little Bird Organic paw paw balm, Origins & Elemis Samples

As far as on-board cosmetics and beauty products go, you are always limited by the airlines as to what size items you can take on, so any samples and tester size items you may have collected work perfectly for long flights!  I try to keep it really simple by going bare faced for each journey, and using wipes to freshen up whenever I feel I need to.  On this particular flight I had a stop over in Abu Dhabi so I did a full cleanse in the airport bathroom and then once again when I landed in Australia. Toothpaste and a toothbrush are essential in my opinion as well as a really hard working moisturiser.  I’m sure you all know how dehydrated you can get on flights and the same goes for your skin!

I would say the secret to a successful flight (by that I mean, you get to your destination and don’t feel absolutely horrific,) is to drink plenty of water, and avoid all those salty snacks and tasty treats they offer you throughout the flight.

As expected, I forgot to pack my sunglasses in my hand luggage.  For me I just like to have them to hand to hide tired, puffy eyes on arrival!  That said, all that really matters is that you have your passport.  Don’t get caught up worrying about the little things…

Take too many photos, meet new people, explore everything, eat well, laugh daily and smile at everyone.

Happy travels

x

2 thoughts on “What’s in my bag… Airport Edition

  1. Great post and advice!! Your bag’s contents are perfect – I’m very inspired 🙂 ❤
    thesartorialcoquette.com

Leave a Reply

