Advice / Lifestyle

5 Ways To Ensure Your Valentines Day Won’t Suck If You’re A Singleton This Year

Breaking bad boxset


The build up to Valentines Day can make you feel pretty shitty if you’re single. No wilted roses, overpriced chocolates or tacky stuffed animals… Oh no how terrible! I’m kidding! If you’re in a loving relationship then that’s great, and I encourage you to welcome all the tasteless, heart covered wonderment that comes your way. And if you’re single you’ll be pleased to know that I have put together my top 5 tips to battle the blues and embrace your independence this Valentines!

Breakfast in bed

Breakfast in bed is probably my personal highlight of Valentines Day (ok, maybe I’m just an out of control breakfast lover!) and just because you’re not in a relationship, it definitely doesn’t mean that you should deprive yourself of this tradition! In fact, being single and making your own breakfast means you’ll enjoy something that you actually want to eat, prepared just the way you like it!

vegan pancakes

I’ll be attempting this delicious, super easy, vegan blueberry and banana pancake recipe from loveandlemons.com and returning to the warmth of my bed to blissfully stuff my face in private.

Image source loveandlemons.com

Treat yourself

Again, being single on Valentines means you could end up with a gift you actually want! It doesn’t have to be anything fancy, but if your budget allows, treat yourself to a little something that says ‘you’re bloody great!’ I’ll be congratulating myself on being great, with a long bubble bath, complete with a unicorn horn bath melt from Lush and a glass of red wine.

Lush unicorn horn bath melt

And because it’s from Lush, you can be sure that no unicorns were harmed in the making of this product!

Touch base with someone you love

Just because you don’t have a boyfriend/girlfriend/fiancée etc. it doesn’t mean your life is completely loveless (surely?!) Coffee with a friend, brunch with a sibling, or even just a good old chat to your mum on the phone, can be enough to remind you that you’re loved and surrounded by some pretty amazing people.

Spend some time alone

I swear whenever I’m in a relationship I find myself lusting over my imagined freedom, and then when I’ve been single for a while, I crave affection and company. Well the grass isn’t always greener, in fact it’s as green as you make it. This time round I’m embracing and savouring all the wonders of single life.

Larry David dating Spend a couple of hours by yourself and read a book, go for a walk, or start the Sex & The City boxset from the beginning (again!) This time is all yours and it feels just great!

Watch a feel good movie

Typically, Valentines involves an overpriced meal out, or a night in, complete with a heated disagreement over which romantic comedy to put on (and then not watch!) This year, the choice is all yours! Of course you could choose watch The Notebook or Love Actually; wallow in self pity and sob into your pillow, or you can choose from the vast number of feel-good movies that will leave you feeling warm inside and happy just be to alive! These films have that affect on me at least. feel good movies

Nothing beats 90s fashion and seeing some of your favourite actors when they were in their prime!

So there you have it! Whatever you do this Valentines, I hope you have a great day, and just remember, if all else fails, put on some sweatpants, order a pizza, pick a new series, and have a good long Netflix binge!

Leave a Reply

